Posted in Faith

This Voice of Truth


PhotoFunia-Music

God moves in mysterious ways, His wonders to perform.

Have you noticed how God often reaches out to you in ways and in places where you least expect Him to?  Maybe He allows you to barely miss having an accident on the road.  Maybe He has a stranger compliment your appearance on a day when you are feeling low.

Earlier this week, He reached out to me through the words in a familiar song when I flipped from the ’50s station on my Sirius to our local Christian station, KSBJ.  The song was Voice of Truth by Casting Crowns, and the words that really spoke to me come from the chorus of this Christian staple:

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
The voice of truth says, “Do not be afraid!”
The voice of truth says, “This is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

I’m sure this song speaks to you whether you are just dangling your toe in the water or have fully immersed yourself into the Word of God, but for those who really know their Bible, the depths of this chorus speak to promises God’s Word makes for all who believe in Christ.

First, when you hear the encouragement to not be afraid, you must reflect on verses like:

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. (John 14:27)

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:34)

“Are not two sparrows sold for a cent? And yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father.  But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So do not fear; you are more valuable than many sparrows.” (Matthew 10:29-31)

Second, the phrase, “this is for my glory,” reminds you that God can turn even our most dire circumstances into an ultimate good:

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28)

And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit. (2 Corinthians 3:18)

The heavens declare the glory of God; /the skies proclaim the work of his hands. (Psalms 19:1)

In a world full of voices–the voices of the media, the voices on the internet, the voices of teachers, family, bosses, coworkers, friends–it is important to remember that the voice of truth comes, not from any of these earthy realms, but from the Logos of Heaven.

When I say, I can’t cope, the Voice of Truth says, We cope together. When I try to figure out what I will do about a potential problem two weeks from now, the Voice of Truth says, Concentrate on today and let tomorrow be My concern. When I think, what’s the point, anyway, the Voice of Truth says, Your greatest joy will come when you know that your life helps to glorify your Heavenly Father.

The last line of this wonderful chorus is perhaps the most important because it emphasizes the key element of a life lived to the full glory of God.  I choose to say no to the negative things that I hear either from my own voice or from others.  I choose to know the truth that is written in the Bible and to lean on that truth instead of the “crazy” things that often go through my own, type-A head.  I choose to believe that God’s Word has more validity than my fears.

I was blessed to be reminded that my current trials are part of God’s greater plan for a world where He wants each one of us to accept Him as Savior.  I may not be able to see right now how He will use my difficulties to glorify His name, but I feel more confident about facing each new day in the knowledge that God has the ultimate hand in my life.  No planning I can do will change what He wills.

For your edification, here is the complete lyrics of this great song.  I hope you have the opportunity to listen to it for yourself soon:

Voice of Truth

By Casting Crowns

Oh what I would do to have
The kind of faith it takes
To climb out of this boat I’m in
Onto the crashing waves

To step out of my comfort zone
Into the realm of the unknown where Jesus is
And He’s holding out His hand

But the waves are calling out my name
And they laugh at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The waves they keep on telling me
Time and time again. “Boy, you’ll never win!”
“You’ll never win!”

[Chorus]
But the voice of truth tells me a different story
The voice of truth says, “Do not be afraid!”
The voice of truth says, “This is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

Oh what I would do to have
The kind of strength it takes to stand before a giant
With just a sling and a stone
Surrounded by the sound of a thousand warriors
Shaking in their armor
Wishing they’d have had the strength to stand

But the giant’s calling out my name
And he laughs at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The giant keeps on telling me
Time and time again. “Boy you’ll never win!”
“You’ll never win!”

But the stone was just the right size
To put the giant on the ground
And the waves they don’t seem so high
From on top of them lookin’ down
I will soar with the wings of eagles
When I stop and listen to the sound of Jesus
Singing over me

I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

© HALL, JOHN MARK / CHAPMAN, STEVEN CURTIS
For non-commercial use only.
© Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC
For non-commercial use only.
Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

Leave a Reply

