Posted in Poetry

Mesquite Bend: Mamas


30 days poetry

The Quilters

These women cook three squares
from scratch, from before the sun
peaks over the long horizon
until it sends its last daily blaze
setting west.  They grasp

gleaming counters despite the glint
of dust hanging ever-present
in the air around them.  Kids

home from classes start chores
as constant as the clock
ticking away the days over the sink
in every kitchen.  Bingo

and bake sales, simple pleasures,
like potluck dinners Sundays
and the sound of husbands
tinkering with tractor or car engines
mean more to these than the trend

for short skirts or platinum hair.
Saturday afternoons, they circle
in the basement of the Baptist church,
a round of quilters making memories
for the town’s babies and newlyweds,

these patterns, more than swatches of cloth,
but fibers of blood and tears
that pulse in their very cells.

Ramona Levacy
April 29, 2015

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

2 thoughts on “Mesquite Bend: Mamas

  1. Oh Ramona – this is soooo beautiful. It is a second “pebble” sent my way reminding me that my responsibility as a child of God is to focus on the simple tasks he places in front of me. All the worrying and striving to achieve more does not impress Him at all (just wears me out).

    Thank you!

    Janey

Leave a Reply

