Posted in Poetry

Mesquite Bend: Mornings


The 50-Centers

This clatch club, 65+ years
in the making, gathers
6 am every morning
for Senior coffee, just 50 cents
and stimulating conversation.
These men have flown crop
dusters and fighter jets, sold
tractors and F-150s, cried
only twice in a long lifetime,
buried spouses and even children.
But each morning’s stories take
them to better places, to voices
filled with gravelly laughter
and the puffed chests no one
shakes a graying head at.
They talk, flirt with Flo,
who has worked this beat
for fifteen years or more,
remark on the cars that zip
in and out of the drive-through,
and shuffle from the familiar booths
just in time to avoid the pimply
teens who take up residence
before school, their young eyes
roving over what is just in front
of them, the wisdom of the 50-centers,
as if the young know everything.
Only Harley Lee, 15, who works
the shift with Flo, knows
how life lessons like gold
can be found at the bottom
of a Styrofoam cup.
Ramona Levacy 
April  20, 2015
Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

3 thoughts on “Mesquite Bend: Mornings

  1. Visions of Whataburger when we were on our retreat. loved watching those seniors bonded with love and shared experiences.

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

Leave a Reply

