Posted in Faith

A Mustard Seed Idea for Halloween


KSBJ

Many years ago, my local, Christian radio station was offering free “seed” cards to give away at Halloween along with whatever other treats you had ready for the costumed minions who traipsed to your door.  Since one of the pick-up points for the seed cards was right by where I work, I stopped in and got some.

It took just an extra moment to add the card to the candy I was handing out.  Some of the kids would ask me what it was.  Others were too eager to get to the next house.  A few said they listened to KSBJ as well.

The next year, when I was handing out candy, more than one kiddo remarked, “Hey, you’re the card lady.”  That made me smile.

In the past few years, I haven’t been handing out candy at my door.  For one, I had a curious cat who might just slip out if I wasn’t careful.  For another, I’ve had other things I have had to do.

But, this morning, I was asking God to give me some much needed guidance because I’ve been feeling in a rut lately.  I wasn’t even thinking about Halloween being this week.  It was just one of those times when I really wanted one of His angels to be right there in front of me so I could have a two-way conversation and get some answers.  You all know the kind of praying I am talking about here.

Anyway, hours later, the memory of my seed card experience of years past popped into my mind.  The only thing I had never liked about it was trying to get the cards separated fast enough and candy out too so the kids could keep going.  I don’t want to slow down their excitement.

So, I realized that if I got some of those treat bags like you do for parties and filled them with goodies and the card, I could quickly pass out a fun treat for the kids who have been growing in numbers on our street as they want to enjoy the kind of old-fashioned Halloween fun like I had as a kid.

Now all I needed were the cards.  I popped open my Publisher program, picked a pre-design and created what you see above.  I had the blank business card forms on hand, so that was easy enough to print.  Now, I’m ready to put together my bag of goodies, which includes candy, funny rings, rubber balls, and more.

Maybe no one will look at my little card promoting a truly awesome Christian radio station.  But, I like to think that the one person God needs to see that message will get it because I asked for an answer, I think I got one, and I acted on it.

So, I guess what I’m saying is, don’t be afraid to put a lot of God into your celebration of a secular holiday.  What we’re really celebrating here is the coming of Fall, cooler weather, and colorful leaves wafting to the ground in orange and red piles to jump in.

Jumping into our faith is just what any day living with God at the center of your life is all about.  Focus on HIM, and you will not be lead astray.

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

2 thoughts on “A Mustard Seed Idea for Halloween

  1. Thanks, Ramona, for your blog today. I need to start reading it on a regular basis. So, add one more to the count of your ‘followers’, if you’re keeping track! See you tonight.

Leave a Reply

