Posted in Christian Living

Days of Ice Cream and Air Conditioning


marypoppins

Color me Disney. Last week, I pondered the positive side of a Pollyanna outlook. Today, I pulled up one of my WDW vacation pictures for a little inspiration.

The truth is, I have a couple of really juicy ideas to write about. I even have some excerpts from the book I am currently writing that I wouldn’t mind sharing. But, frankly, it’s the middle of summer, and the only thing saving me from the heat is my wonderful a/c and dreams of ice cream.

So, what about a list of five things we can be doing on hot summer days to offer the love of Christ to those who are of the world and not just in it?

  1. Write a blog post!  🙂  Or better yet, read some blog posts and find someone you can encourage in their own walk with Christ.  Many of us writers are much better communicators when we can put something on a page (or computer screen) then when we are speaking in person.  Let’s put those skills to use to be encouragers of the Word.
  2. Turn your favorite hobby into an act of giving.  I enjoy knitting.  I’m not very good at it, but I can at least cable-stitch a decent lap or baby blanket.  I buy soft yarn and take my time knitting as I am able.  When I complete a blanket, I wash it to make sure it smells nice and holds up.  Then, I give it to a friend of mine who works for a community outreach group.  She passes the handmade blankets on to nursing homes and/or programs that provide clothes to mamas who have nothing to take their newborns home in.
  3. Clean out your closets.  Did you know that anyone who has to go to the hospital for a suspected sexual assault has to give up all their clothing as evidence?  Most hospitals have some kind of program to take in clean, nice clothes as replacements.  Or, your nice clothes that you don’t wear anymore could go to your local outreach organization for them to distribute or sell in their thrift shop to fund programs that do things like help kids get supplies for school.
  4. Stock up on some cool bottles of water and canned goods or snacks and make the circuit in your car.  When you see one of the people on the street corner with the signs about needing work or money, hand them the bottle of water and a protein bar.  You could even have a typed or handwritten message about God’s love for us to hand to the person as well.  The policeman out on patrol wouldn’t mind some cool water on a hot day either, I’m sure.
  5. Phone an acquaintance.  We all have people in our lives that we know and have felt a call to reach out to, but we just haven’t gotten the courage to do it yet.  What better excuse than a day too hot to be outside to give them a call?  Depending on the situation, it could be under the guise of making sure the person has enough resources to make it through the heat (like an elderly neighbor on a fixed income who may not be able to afford the a/c) or to just say hello.

I know none of these suggestions are particularly earth-shattering.  They also are nothing new.  I have blatantly taken them from ideas of kind acts I have seen others do.  Grace is such a wonderful gift, may we never take it for granted.  So, even on lazy, summer days, we can find ways to be the hand of grace toward others for the One who makes all things new for us and through Whom all things are possible.

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

4 thoughts on “Days of Ice Cream and Air Conditioning

  1. on this very hot day I am taking the time to thank a dear friend for her blog that I always find interesting and inspirational. have a cool and restful day.

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE Smartphone

Leave a Reply

