Posted in Poetry

National Poetry Writing Month #26


SWAY

The tall grass blades blown
by a gentle breeze, this dance
they know like reaching for light,

the spineless wiggle of seaweed,
a flow of gentle fibers against the might
of salty water, a lesson in force
versus forgiveness,

the furry thump of the tail
from the one being on earth
who gives more than he requires,
a full bowl, water to lap, and romps,

the side-to-side steps of two hearts,
entwined by the silence over cereal,
the sounds of raised voices followed
by loving whispers, the unison
of forever, this covenant that rises
like a Monarch floating to the sun.

Ramona Levacy
April 26, 2013

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

Leave a Reply

