Posted in Poetry

National Poetry Writing Month #23


stone

Elemental Series: Stone

Smooth and slick and solid,
so solid we almost forget
the watery polish that ekes
out canyons, makes even
the dullest granite shine.

Through ages, it has stood
beneath and risen above, its roots
layers of refuse, pot shards
inked in pigments like blood,
and forgotten bones.

Tool or weapon, stair or chair,
what we take is only temporary,
so that even what we grind to powder
returns to what once was and remains.

These stones lay as silent witnesses
to all our humanness, to men
standing knee-deep in battle blood
to children holding motherless babies,
to the smiles created by loving hands,
these silent observers, like God’s judges,
waiting, patiently waiting, for their cue
to shout.

 

Ramona Levacy
April 23, 2013

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

Leave a Reply

