Posted in Poetry

National Poetry Writing Month #14


The First Day of Summer

Our bare toes gritty in the sand,
the foamy saltwater
licking our calves in swirls,
we breathe the oxygen so free
around us, tingle with the light rays
warming skin grown pale
in winter’s hazy days.

These moments, when the heart
beats with the pulse of the earth’s core,
we believe anything, feel
like the sea turtles
in the violent pulses mid-ocean
moving with such careful intention,
they look like birds in the clouds,
floating for decades in purest peace.

Having now and only the promise of other days
of sunlight and seawater, we grab with two hands
the beauty of an afternoon together,
our own errant thinking the only obstacle
between ourselves and a loving God.

Ramona Levacy
April 14, 2013

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

Leave a Reply

