Posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Faith

Do You Live Like You Believe It?


A Pool of Water Used for BaptismsThis little pool of water may not seem like much, but at different points in time, it has actually served as the site where some were baptized into the family of Jesus.  We all remember the moment when we ourselves were baptized and those fledgling years of our Christianity when everything was just a little brighter, when our zest for God fairly glowed.

But life has a way of catching up to us.  If the race we are running were an easy one, it would really not be worth the effort of putting one foot in front of another.  The glow of our early years of Christian faith can begin to tarnish with the cares of this world.  We start to hold on to what is right in front of us instead of offering up the cares of this world to the Ruler of the next one.  We let worry creep in, no matter what Christ told us about worrying, no matter that the Creator of everything knows the number of hairs on our very heads.  We cling to treasures on this earth under the auspices of security, like the rich young man unable to sell all and follow the Son of Man.

Many years ago, my father-in-law asked a series of questions to a younger person he was counseling.  This person was facing several family crises, depression, and budget woes.  Knowing that she believed in Christ, my father-in-law began by asking her about her belief.  When she strongly proclaimed her faith in God, my father-in-law asked her to consider if she were living like she believed Christ died for her and rose again.

How about you?  How about me?  What does it mean to live like I believe it?  In the past several years, it has come to mean my spending more time doing and less time wringing my hands wondering if where I am and what I am up to is what God wants from me.  I don’t mean that I have quit praying to God about His purpose for my life, or that I have quit aligning my actions to the principles of the Bible as best as I can.  What I have started to do is to give my actions over into God’s hands, where they have really been all along.   Now, however, my mind is recognizing God’s authority.  If He wants me somewhere else or doing something else, I have to live like I believe and step forward in the faith that He will get me where He wants me to be.

This process is not easy, like all growing pains, but through the gift of the Spirit that God has granted us believers, we can make it through life’s challenges aided by the One and Only, proof positive that “His burden is light.”   Living like we believe involves prayer time, worship time, helping others, and doing instead of worrying.  The more I can live like I believe, the more God’s light will shine through me.  And what more could any of us want than that?

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

Leave a Reply

