Posted in Christian Living, Living, Self-Help

Reality vs. Real


Did you ever consider that a lot of people would face life with fewer difficulties if they didn’t live as if their lives were some kind of reality TV show? In reality TV, life never has a dull moment. If someone isn’t throwing a party, somebody else is planning a trip for all her friends to an exotic location where interesting activities and fancy dinner parties abound. And then, if people are not laughing together, they are picking one person in the group to dislike and pick on, until everyone is talking on top of everyone else. Drama abounds. And all the boring parts, like the daily activities required to actually live, get edited out.
If we watch these reality glimpses of life that are actually produced and scripted almost as much as a television drama without understanding that what they show isn’t actually real, then we are left with an impression of life that is dangerously distorted. In a truly real world, people may often get together, but not on private planes or for thousand dollar dinners. The drama in reality TV does not reflect a life lived solving problems with more than just gut reactions and emotional responses. Drama is so readily available in that quasi-life because people are not grounded in God, but in material possessions, a desire to be noticed, and lots of alcohol.
But Hollywood, with all its special lighting and sound effects, has a way of making anything look desirable. Somehow, we slip into the illusion along with the players on the television screen that what they are portraying is a magical, fun-filled and fulfilling life. But real life, not reality life, doesn’t need the drama fed by alcohol or back-stabbing or putting money before everything else.
Real life is most fulfilling when it is centered on God’s principles, seeks to love others instead of finding fault with them and enjoys each day to its fullest potential, which means actually smelling the roses and remembering from Whom they come.
Too much of anything is not usually good. Watch HGTV all day, and you suddenly need to redecorate your house. Watch the Housewives, and you live a dull life with nothing interesting to do. But if you take the time to watch yourself instead, you may just discover there are many gifts from God each day, loving friends, and small actions you can take that might just make a big difference in somebody else’s life.
Reality may sometimes seem enticing, but give me real any day. The ever-changing nature of life itself is all the drama anyone needs. Forget the created drama that is the current television rage and embrace real life for the better. What a change!

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

2 thoughts on “Reality vs. Real

    1. I am a bit new to the whole blogging thing, so I am not quite sure what it means to be tagged, but here are the answers to your eleven questions:

      Do you like sports and if so which is your favorite? I did UIL journalism and math growing up, so sports was never my thing. I like watching sports if I know someone personally playing, or when it is special, like the Olympics.

      What is the most important day in your life? The most important day in my life is the one on which I officially asked Christ to be my Savior.
      What is your favorite commercial? I like the one where the kid in the Darth Vader suit gets a surprise when his dad remote starts the car from inside the house while the kid is outside in front of the vehicle trying to use the force. The kid’s double-take is priceless.
      Who is your favorite Bible character? John the Baptist, what a force of nature he must have been in person!
      In a few words describe yourself. I am a jack of all trades and master of none, and a wealth of contradictions, but hopefully not hypocrisies.
      What is your favorite flower? Any flower someone gives me!
      Where do you like to shop? One of my fave places is the Container Store. I’m an obsessive organizer.
      What do you do for fun? Read, do yoga, visit with my family, play with my cats
      What was your worst subject in school? P.E. One of my few Bs in college was in bowling because I couldn’t score high enough for an A.
      Have you ever had a speeding ticket? No, but I have probably deserved one a time or two.

Leave a Reply

