Posted in Christianity, Faith, Writing

Setting Our Sights Higher


November is upon me, and that makes it a good time to reflect back on what I thought I would accomplish this year when it began, and to think about what I want to accomplish in the year to come. Who was it that said that a life left unexamined is not worth living? Well, I find that I do better when I do examine the life that I am living, and setting clear goals is part of that examination.
This past year, I wanted to continue to make time for my family, do an even better job at practicing my yoga exercise, and make more inroads with my writing. I feel very good about my achievements in this area. I not only go to my yoga classes, I also teach yoga a couple of days each week. I have had several good visits with my family besides daily conversation on the phone. (Thank goodness for unlimited calling plans!) I have also started this blog to help reach out to others interested in Christian writing and living a Christian life in a modern world.
I am also pleased to say that I finished the first draft of my second novel and am halfway through the first draft of a third. The novel I just completed is a contemporary Christian romance, while the third book is an historical mystery.
So, I’m already well on my way to setting some goals for the coming year. First of all, my second novel has naturally lent itself to a spin-off story–something I hadn’t planned or even realized until I finished the book. Secondly, I want to complete the first draft of my historical mystery.
I’m not sure that I will be completing my second novel for publication by the end of 2012. The one thing about creating truly good writing is to give time to yourself between that first draft and your serious editing. After all, when you first complete something, you really feel close to it. It’s your baby, that you snuggle close, too close to see the flaws and improvements that must be made. Because I want to make sure that what I write is good Christian fiction, I have to give myself distance between my first draft and my editing process. I also have to pray about the message the book should be giving and hope that God gives me enough insight to ensure that I achieve that message through my story.
When it comes to personal growth, I find that turning to my Bible is the best place to start for goal setting. For example, all I need to do is contemplate the fruit of the Spirit or one of Paul’s letters to the early churches to come away with a clear list of the kind of race to run in this walk with Christ.
How do you approach your daily living? Does goal setting make a difference in your life? In your relationship with God? Before the holidays are upon us, take a moment or two to reflect on where your life has been this past year, and where you think God wants it to go in the year to come.

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

One thought on “Setting Our Sights Higher

  1. A truly wonderful read and an insightful view …
    I became baptized christian last November and am finding the changes in my world incredibly rewarding … November being used as a time to look back is a wonderful idea and one i shall take on board … Prayer for guidance and trust in the Lord leading the way plays a big part for me also~ God Bless

Leave a Reply

