Posted in Christianity, Faith

Hidey holes


Furry friend finding a good place to hide

There are weeks when I am more than tempted to find a nice, warm hole somewhere to crawl into and pull the covers up over my head.  Stress plays a big part during these weeks.  Either I have had too much to do, have pulled myself in too many different directions, or otherwise placed too many pressures on myself.  Often, they are weeks when I have been called upon more often than I am comfortable with to put myself out in the world and interact with people.  (Being a natural introvert, social activities can be a real nightmare.)

I mention these areas because I know so many other people often feel the same way, even if it is for different reasons.  The bottom line is, God doesn’t want us to hide in little holes away from the rest of humanity.  How can we be Christ to the world if we are hovering under the covers in our bed?

So, my first step on weeks like this should be to turn to my Bible and my God in prayer.  Then, I need to take a good look at my life and how I am spending my time and then get it all back into balance.  Then, I need to pull back the covers and crawl out of my hole–with a smile, ready for the world.

The problem is, that’s not what I usually do.  I usually wind up in a frenzy of activity, literally holing myself up in house chores and errands, and anything else that will cut me off from real human contact.  I usually wind up being snappy with the people who have to be around me, or shut myself away from them emotionally while I feel sorry for myself.

Why is it that we know what to do, but so often refuse to do it?  The only slack I can cut myself is considering how even David, who had a heart like God’s, wound up doing the wrong thing now and again.  Now, like David, I need to step up, wipe the dust off my knees, repent of my failings and determine to take the first step, yet again, of my renewed self.  No finding hidey holes in the week ahead.  Instead, I need to pray for the courage and the balance in my life to make the difference God put me here to master in the first place.

How about you?

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

Leave a Reply

