Posted in Christian Fiction, Romantic Fiction

What Makes It Romance?


For those who know me personally, the idea of me and romance going together probably just doesn’t fit. But I must admit, I am a “closet romantic.” I like to read a good, clean love story.
As a person trying to write good, Christian fiction, the concept of a love story takes on much bigger dimensions. Love, especially in connection to Christ’s covenant with us, is all-encompassing. Remember, when Christ was asked what the most important commandment was, He said love God first and love our neighbors as we love ourselves. These two commands, He explained, cover all the others.
Isn’t this one of the most profound truths about our relationship to God? Love explains it all. It’s so simple to explain, and yet so, so complicated to enact in everyday life.
So, the love between a man and a woman, which is at the heart of every good romance, isn’t enough for a good, Christian romance. That type of romance needs to make us think about the ways we love in our relationship to God, our own selves and others, not just the tension and nerves that lead up to the perfect kiss.

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

Leave a Reply

