Posted in Uncategorized

Writing Blues


   To be honest, even though I feel compelled to write, it isn’t always fun. It is especially trying when I have to fit it in to a busy schedule. Frankly, I don’t know how you other writers do it. I am especially proud of those parents who find time to write besides already having two full-time jobs–the job that pays the bills and the job of raising children.
   I have to admit, I don’t write everyday. Some people say you have to, or if you don’t, you don’t really want it badly enough. Maybe that is true, but my truth is that my paying job requires me to write and use my creative skills and there are just some days when my brain is too tired to sit in front of the computer and come up with even more creative writing, no matter how interested I am in my current story.
   If all great writers are a little crazy, maybe I have a shot. I deal with a lot of anxiety and guilt in life in general, riddled with “shoulds” and the good, old Puritan work ethic. When it comes to my writing, these tendencies can make things much more difficult for me. I can never tell if I am being too hard on myself or not hard enough. Like, should I really be feeling guilty, or am I just feeling guilty because of my own brain malfunction?
  I don’t know if other writers have these issues. One thing I read earlier this week was a good reminder for me, though, on how to deal with them. The character in the novel I was reading had a task she felt compelled to complete, but inadequate to undergo. The character finds comfort in realizing that if God truly wants her to accomplish the task, He will give her the help she needs to complete it. I just have to keep reminding myself that, even as I try to work on activities like this blog.

Author:

I am a 40-something Texan with a feisty cat and a supportive husband of 20 years. With a Master's degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, I have taught creative writing at Texas Tech, won awards for my writing and been blessed to be mentored by Horn Professor and poet Dr. Walt McDonald. I earn a living by helping my husband's family run a health food store, but my avocation is writing. I hope you enjoy reading about some of my triumphs and tragedies as I continue to work on figuring out what life is all about and on growing my ability to share my writing. May your own journey be a blessed one.

Leave a Reply

